No Sarpo County, Sinoe Eminent Citizens Reach Understanding

first_imgAmidst reports of a quest to partition Sinoe County into two separate political subdivisions for the feuding Sarpo and Klao ethinc groups, respectively, the Daily Observer has learned that the Sarpoes’ reputed stakeholders have recanted their position and vowed to promote the socio-economic development of the county.A series of meetings aptly chaired by Dr. Amos C. Sawyer, who is chairman of Liberia’s Governance Commission and also an eminent citizen of Sinoe County, brought together other eminent citizens and friends of the County, including leaders from political, academic, business and traditional backgrounds to tackle the feud facing County and to promote peace, development and unity amongst the leadership and people of Sinoe. The body is known as the Sinoe Peace Initiative.The first meeting was held at the office of Dr. Charles Clarke (another eminent citizen of the County) and a second meeting was held on Wednesday, September 2 at the Governance Commission, where the body reached a number of ‘understandings’ toward promoting peace and socio-economic development in the county.The ‘understandings’, a copy of which is in the possession of the Daily Observer, contains three key points. First, participants understand and agree that, “the composition and legitimacy of the Sinoe Peace Initiative” recognizes the participants and the body at large as “the legitimate mechanism through which the challenges of peace and the building of unity among the people of Sinoe will be pursued…”.Second, concerning the integrity of deliberations and decisions of the Initiative, participants agree to a code of conduct, promoting civility and mutual respect. This part also specifically calls for “the County Legislative Caucus and the local administration of Sinoe County headed by the Superintendent [to] perform their constitutionally assigned responsibilities in an environment of mutual respect and good will, recognizing that a harmonious working relationship is indispensible to the peace and development of Sinoe County.”Third and perhaps most important, “participants affirm the non-partitioning and indivisibility of Sinoe County”. They also agree to irreversibly commit themselves to addressing the challenges of political disagreements, equal access to justice, employment, and opportunities for development “with deliberate speed, conscientiousness and available resources.”The Sinoe Peace Initiative is chaired by Dr. Sawyer and vice-chaired by Dr. Thomas G. Koon. Other leaders will be appointed after consultations. Members of the Initiative include Central Bank Governor Dr. J. Mills Jones, Amb. Dew Tuan Wleh Mayson, Dr. Charles Clarke, Senators Joseph Nagbe and J. Milton Teahjay, as well as Representatives Matthew G. Zarzar and Jefferson Kanmoh.Other members were Superintendent Thomas Romeo Quioh, former Senators Mobutu Viah Nyenpan and Mytle F. Gibson as well as Mr. Klahn-Gboloh Jarbah, G. NarrisonTuolee and Sen. Commany Wesseh (Friend of Sinoe).All participants have signed onto the understandings reached at the Sinoe Peace Initiative meeting. Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img read more