Virat Kohli named captain of ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year

first_imgVirat Kohli named captain of ICC Test and ODI Teams of the YearICC awards 2017-18: Three players from India made it to the ICC Test team of the Year 2018 while four made the cut for the ODI team of the Year.advertisement Rohan Sen DubaiJanuary 22, 2019UPDATED: January 22, 2019 11:40 IST Virat Kohli is the first Asian captain to win Test matches in South Africa, England and Australia in the same calendar year (Reuters Photo)HIGHLIGHTSVirat Kohli is the leading run-scorer in both Tests and ODIsIndia won the Test and ODI series in Australia recentlyJasprit Bumrah also featured in both Test and ODI teamsVirat Kohli has been named as the captain of both the ICC Test Team of the Year and ODI Team of the Year 2017-18.The International Cricket Council on Tuesday announced the final XI of both teams which features three Indian players in the Test side while four have made the cut for the ODI team.Virat Kohli, who was the leading scorer in both formats in 2018, was named leader of both the sides with Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah getting named in the Test side while India vice-captain Rohit Sharma, Kohli, Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav made it to the ODI side.Kohli and Bumrah are the only two players who feature in both the Test and ODI teams.Rishabh Pant was also awarded with the Emerging Male Cricketer of the Year award.Apart from India, three players have made it to the Test side from New Zealand while Dimuth Karunaratne and Mohammad Abbas remain the only ones from Sri Lanka and Pakistan.West Indies, South Africa and Australia have been represented by Jason Holder, Kagiso Rabada and Nathan Lyon, respectively. The Aussie offie is the lone spinner in the squad.ICC Test Team of the Year 2017-18: Tom Latham (NZ), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Virat Kohli (captain) (IND), Henry Nicholls (NZ), Rishabh Pant (IND), Jason Holder (WI), Kagiso Rabada (SA), Nathan Lyon (Aus), Jasprit Bumrah (IND), Mohammad Abbas (PAK).Congratulations to the ICC Test Team of the Year [email protected]@IamDimuthKane [email protected] (c)@[email protected]@[email protected]@[email protected]@Mohmmadabbas111 (@ICC) January 22, 2019Besides the four Indians, England is being represented by the same number of players in the one-day side.ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017-18: Rohit Sharma (IND), Jonny Bairstow (ENG), Virat Kohli (captain) (IND), Joe Root (ENG), Ross Taylor (NZ), Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper) (ENG), Ben Stokes (ENG), Mustafizur Rahman (BAN), Rashid Khan (AFG), Kuldeep Yadav (IND), Jasprit Bumrah (IND).Presenting the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year [email protected]@[email protected] (c)@[email protected]@josbuttler (wk)@[email protected]@[email protected]@Jaspritbumrah93 (@ICC) January 22, 2019Also Read | Virat Kohli, India stay No.1 in Test rankings, Rishabh Pant breaks into top-20Also Read | I will be fit before the Indian Premier League, says Prithvi ShawFor sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Posted byrohan sen Tags :Follow ICC Awards 2017-18Follow Virat KohliFollow Jasprit BumrahFollow Test Team of the Year 2018Follow ODI Team of the Year 2018last_img read more